Finances and Budgets

We launched in August and we’ve had 12 Sunday services so far.  To this point, we have not had a budget.  We just spend whatever we get.  That’s how it it goes with a new church – you don’t have anything you need – you have to buy it or borrow it. 

But during the next month or so, I’m going to work hard on creating a 6 month budget for January – June of 2007.  I think it is going to work out to where we need about $5,000 a week.  I’ve struggled with whether or not to let our people know numbers – like how many people are there or what the offering was last week.  I don’t want people to think that’s all we care about.  I don’t want to constantly be harassing people about money.  I have already taught a message on giving, and we take up an offering each week.

But last week, I decided to print "Weekly goal: $5000.  Last week’s offering: $4300" in the Sunday handout.  I think our people just want to know where we are.  It was a little old school and a little open source to print that, but I’ve got people coming up to me and asking how we’re doing financially.  I don’t want to harass guests to give money, but I do think our people want to know where we are.  Anyway, so we printed that info in the handout Sunday and we’ll see.  Those of you who lead cool churches, what do you guys do?

For the first 12 weeks of Oak Leaf, the offering has averaged about $4000 a week.  It’s been in the low 2’s and the high 6’s.  It doesn’t necessarily track with attendance.   It has worked out to be about $17 per person per Sunday.  Anyway, that’s where we are.  I don’t know if that’s good or bad for a church, but we’re thankful that God is meeting our needs.  Sure, there’s more we want to do, and we want to pay our great staff more.  But we’ll get there in God’s timing.   

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

