Why 1,000 People Are Attending Oak Leaf Church

Oak Leaf Church is a little less than three years old, and we’ve seen God do some incredible things.  One of those things is the numbers of people that are coming to Oak Leaf Church on a regular basis.  Cartersville has a population of 18,000 people, and there are about 90,000 people in the entire county.

We didn’t spend a lot of money ($55,000 from January to our launch in August).  We didn’t have a social networking strategy.  We didn’t have a big launch team (we had about 10 families)  Anyway, here’s some reasons why I believe so many people are connected right now.

1.  God is blessing.  I don’t mean this in the super-spiritual, gotta give God lip-service kind of way.  I really mean it.  It’s possible to do all the right things, and if God doesn’t bless it, then it’s no good.  I have no idea why God doesn’t bless everyone the same, but I’m thankful that He has blessed our church.

2.  We came to the right place at the right time. I really didn’t want to plant in Cartersville, because I’m more of a city-person.  In fact, even when we moved to Cartersville, I kept driving down into the city to find a better place.  But in the end, God wanted us here.  Turns out we were able to be a big fish in a small pond, rather than a small fish in a big pond.  Cartersville didn’t have a church like Oak Leaf Church.  There are several other church plants that have just started or are starting now.

3.  We are intentional about growth. We plan for it, pray for it, and expect it.  I think a lot of churches don’t grow because they really don’t expect it, and consequently, they never plan for it.  I’m always asking “what’s next?”

4.  We aren’t afraid to lose people. This is important…I’ve seen big givers walk, but I have never been tempted to change the vision to accommodate people.  Oak Leaf Church isn’t for everyone, and I’m okay with that.  If you try to please everyone, you’ll end up pleasing no one.  When I watch people leave, it’s always sad, but sometimes, it’s the best.

5.  We are not afraid of change. In fact, we seek it out.  Sometimes, we’ve been guilty of changing too much.  But if you want to grow, you’ve got to be willing to change.  And it’s a gut check, because we often change things that I started or that I thought was a good idea.

Look for five more reasons tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

